The Earth Day 2021, a Blessing in Disguise for us?


Google image for celebrating the Earth Day 2021 (source: Google)

Today, the 22nd of April 2021, people around the world are celebrating the Earth Day. Lots of Social Media are reflecting the cheerful of the Earth Day by showing pictures that are related for commemorating the Earth Day 2021. You may find it at Facebook, personal blog, institution social medias, etc, including one that is published by Google as I attached the picture.

What does it mean by the Earth Day? How we celebrate that day? Are there many people aware of this very-very important date? Do they understand of the Earth Day? How they or we celebrate this very valuable day? Is there any celebration in your organisation, institution, or even personal celebration? Many? No idea.

However, under a small scale, as an individual, we can celebrate it. I celebrate the Earth day by making some social media posts, such as on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and also onto my personal blog, as you read it right know. We live on the Mother Earth surface. Take advantage of our existence on it and also having a very unique relationship to the Mother Earth.

I said unique, because, it is due to, actually, there is a need to have a ‘re-actualization’ in meaning and understanding of the way we look to our interaction between us and our Mother Earth. Let’s say that under the very common basic understanding on how to utilize the Earth? Then it goes to the most common perception, i.e.: what the Mother Earth gives us? Under this based on several principles, the Earth gives us, not the opposite perception, ‘what we can give to the earth?’ Have you ever thought of the last statement?

I think since we were born, we are the main ‘Earth absorber or sucker machine’. No matter what is the condition of the sources (the earth), but we keep explorating sustainably. Do we have an environmental concern in our surroundings, place, city and even in country level?

In my opinion, we need to have the environmental concern. This concern need to be developed since the early age. This is one example, I asked my son to participate in the blog competition that has an environment theme. Fortunately, my son did not refuse my request. It is also supported by his positive habit on writing many things in his blog. Amazingly, he likes the writing theme and enjoyed while writing to his blog.

The title of his writing on his blog is: ‘aku berharap banyak pada bumiku, hutanku, terutama diriku.” (I have many expectation towards my earth, my forests and especially to my self).

This competition asks the participant candidates to write letters to our earth, our forests and to myself. The letter consists of his idea(s) of what is he going to do in the next fifty years to his earth and what is the earth and forest’s ‘performances’ and also the forests. The letter also consists of his request (or soft order) to himself to carry out his ideas to support the better future for Earth in the next 50 years. You may read his writing in his blog here.

I was amazed of his writing, because of his age as he is in the grade 8 in Junior High currently. He has already such a high motivation on ‘looking after’ the earth and forests. I feel that his letter also similar to my idea.

So many things we can do in terms of looking after the earth, this is our time to ‘give’ to her. I hope my posts on social media, my writing in my blog regarding the Earth Day 2021, I consider to be recognized as my small contribution on celebrating the Earth Day.

My son has a strong desire to do that. If he can, I need to make my own commitment also. I have to have the same dreams as my sons’. Looking after our Earth is not an individual ‘project’ but this is belong to the whole people in the world.

In terms of implementing the good will, I remember the United Nations strong willing under their quote: ‘Think Globally, Act Locally‘. So, let’s do it together.

Happy Earth Day 2021

Leave a comment